The God of Small Things

28Jul06
I completed the book i always wanted to read. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, a semi biography of a syrian christian family set in the village of Ayemenen in Kerala, India. Winner of the Booker prize.


The story starts with the unison of two separated twins (two-egged twins) and then lurches back and forth in time describing the small incidents, the small things that had a lasting impact in their lives. The way author plays with time, is adorable. Chronologically, the story comes to an end in the middle and the last word with which the book ends is ‘tomorrow‘. Arundhati Roy herself an architect, says stories are like building to her, she starts with a piece and then construct forwards and backwards, not necessarily from the start to end.

The God of Small Things peeps into the caste system, the political ferver and in general the life of people in rural India. The title character is an Untouchable named Velutha(he smelled of Milk and Urine) who works in the Grandma’s pickle factory. Whom the two-egged twins loved and everyone else hated. The plot as it goes unfolds into an extra-marital affair between Ammu (Mom of the two-egged twins) and Velutha(he smelled of Milk and Urine). She loved the man in night whom her children loved by the Day. The story ends with the death of Velutha and the book ends with the love making scene of Ammu and Velutha, and a promise to meet ‘tomorrow‘.

If the novel as said is semi biography, then separating the parts of fiction from facts would be impossible. When the characters are matched, Arundhati Roy becomes one of those two-egged twins – Rahel.

The book is indeed painful and depressing, yet wonderful. As Ms.Roy herself puts it about ‘tomorrow‘, they knew it would be terrible, but it was wonderful it happened at all.

PS: The italicized sentences are taken directly from the book.

10 Responses to “The God of Small Things”

  1. 1 travel plaza

    Maverick, I read this book a couple of years back and remember thinking that I should someday read it again. Though, it was really abstract, it had my attention all the way to the end. There is no boring part in the book. Thanks for reminding me. Must go look for a copy at the library and read it again.

  2. 2 Frida

    It sounds wonderful. I need something new, I’ve been in a reading rut lately.

  3. 3 Maverick

    @travel plaza:im sure you’ll enjoy it much more this time. Happy reading !

    @frida:I found it very refreshing too (u believe its the first indian author’s book i ever read), esp after the decryption novels of Dan Brown into which i burried my head lately.go get it !

  4. 4 sharda

    I planned to read this book for a long time.I thought it wont be interesting for some person impatient like me.I fear reading lengthy novels,but your blog created an interest.I am going to borrow it from tempe public library this week.Thanks for the summary.

  5. 5 L>T

    i’ve always meant to read that book. I’ll have to get at it.

  6. 6 Alka

    I have read this book and was not very much impressed. It projects India the way a certain section wants to see it. It has all the ingradients. I remember, one member of the Booker Committee saying about Anita Desai’s “Fasting Feasting” that if they would have a second Booker it would have certainly gone to Anita Desai’s “Fasting Feasting.” OF COURSE, Anita Desai has not projected India in the usual color which would appeal to a ceratin section.

  7. 7 dreamcaster

    Hi! how are you doing? I haven’t read the book either.

  8. 8 Maverick

    @sharda:I used to feel the same too before reading my first novel, but after that things were never the same again, the way characters are established in some novels is superb and i almost always end up believing in their existence.hope u enjoy ur read.

    @l>t:grab a copy, im sure u’ll enjoy it.

    @alka:I dont know about Anita Desai’s fasting feasting, but i thouroughly enjoyed this book.n do u knw that the story is semi-autobiographical and almost real.May be it has all ingredients co its picked up frm a life.n usually west percieves india in a spiritual sense n the book makes no mention of tht part so im not sure of which section of people are u talking about.

    @dreamcaster:im doing fine, ve read ur latest interpretation, it sounded damn interesting and the comments were also great, only i was not able to leave one bcos of the reason i said in my latest post.

  9. 9 Deepali

    Well I just finished reading The God of Small Thing myself. I did enjoy it. I found the writing style a little hard to cope with in the beginning but then you get used to it. Well I did not know if was semi-autobiographics. Though when I was in school I remember a teacher saying that it was very similar to ‘To Kill a Mocking Bird’. Haven’t read that yet. Plan to before the year end to see if there are similarities.
    Also read Fasting, Feasting. I enjoyed it very much too. You should check it out.


  1. 1 Thoughts unmatured - Posts unpublished « What Happened Was …

Leave a Reply

