The Pillars of the Earth

27Aug08

This post serves a dual purpose. First, It does the post that Manpreet had tagged me with, a long time ago, and second it reviews the book, not in an exhaustive way though.

Tag: Take up the book closest at hand, open page 123 and write the lines six, seven and eight.

Normally I keep the book I’m currently reading closest to me, at my bedside. It is The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. I completed this 1000 page book last night, and the book came even closer to me. This is the feeling you get after reading a great book I guess. Anyway I quote the sixth, seventh and eight lines in the page 123.

Then on holy days, when people come from all over the country to hear the services in the cathedral, we gather farthings galore.

The Pillars of the Earth

The Pillars of the Earth

Review: The story of this book is woven around building a cathedral. It starts with the wish of a mason dreaming to build the most beautiful cathedral in England. Its about him and how he struggles to make his dream come true. Its about how Love defies Logic and how ordinary people with their strong will could wage wars on the strongest of kingdoms. Its about hatred between two step brothers and how lust can overpower someone. Its about never learning to loose, and how a single woman can start and stop great stories. All in all, Ken Follett has done a wonderful job and never in those 1000 pages, do you want to give up reading the book. No wonder it was featured in BBC’s Top 200 Nation’s Best-loved Books and Oprah’s Book club. Great Read!

8 Responses to “The Pillars of the Earth”

  1. Oprah’s Book Club still exists ! LOL

  2. Great promising read, I am sure.

    Thankoo for remembering the tag.
    the current read is so nice, i feel like reading again.

  3. I have put some pictures in my blog and this post will be online only for few days. I thought you might want to see those pictures.

  4. @prash: ha ha I knew of its existance only a few days back 🙂

    @Manpreet: Thx for ur appreciation, what r u reading btw ?

    @prash: Lovely pics, u look vooooowwwwww.

  5. That was a short n sweet review!

  6. I have a lot of reading to catch up on. This will go on my must read list. Any other good suggestions? Oh, BTW, I’m back with a short post, after a looooong time:)

  7. Oye current read-LOVE STORY, jo tum parh rahey ho
    i remember i had read it long back

  8. @Manasa: thx 🙂

    @travelplaza: checked out ur post as soon as u left the comment, great to see you back.

    @Manpreet: Love STORY bahut ahi read hena, I completed it on my flight to NewYork 🙂


Leave a Reply

