Shantaram

25Mar09

Its time to do something on my blog other than changing the themes around ….So here I come on my blog again. I think I’m more of a free-lancer at heart than a committed blogger, I dont want to write when I dont feel like, and I dont want to feel bad about it either. Through time and again I have found one truth about me if nothing else – I get obsessed easily with something as easily as I get bored with it later, But one thing which falls as an exception is blogging, may be that’s because this is where I can let my heart out …. and without bothering about people judging me on my thoughts.

Shantaram is a book I completed in recent times. I’m not going to give an illustrous review of it as a book and would rather direct here, the people who are looking for it. But one thing I will do, is share why I identify myself with the book. I’m not an australian, neither am I a criminal or have lived in slums, but one thing I find in common with it are the imperfections.

I know I’m far from perfect. I’m not someone whom you can take as inspiration for most of the things, but I realize it and I have survived despite it, and survived pretty well. It also scares me to see people who are perfect, in almost every sense. It makes me want to ask them the question – if they see the world as it is, or do they see it through their own frosted glass where everything looks beautiful. How can one not feel small infront of them. Shantaram made me realize that one needn’t be perfect to be a good person. Shantaram also describes the India, which I’m sure most of the people reading this blog haven’t experienced – the slums of Mumbai. Before reading the book, I used to picture slum life with poverty, sadness, hunger and people willing to run away from it given a chance. But they seem to be content with the little they have – the huts, the open toilets, TV sets and a sense of community which I bet nothing else but suffering can bring. The book also made me realize how absurd comparisons can be, how we have no right to compare our life to someone else’s and form an opinion based on that. But again, its not a perfect world – so we do compare and we do form opinions which later becomes our point of view. And it’s always better to have some point of view – good or bad than having none. On the whole Shantaram has been quite a read, a tale of imperfections and otherwise which one can identify more with , than those other preaching inspirational books.

3 Responses to “Shantaram”

  1. Sounds like a phenomenal read! I’ll have to check this out in the library!
    Thanks!

  2. Thanks Mav, was looking forward to it. Its lying on my shelf and will pick it up after i am done reading the book in hand. Would you believe that I too, am reading Anne Frank?
    Are we some kind of separated twins? Been picking up the same books…

  3. I am finally reading it. And loving it. I savor a few pages at a time but love every word.


Leave a Reply

